0 items
24/7 Support & Sales   1300 210 210
Online Support Web Hosting

How to terminate FTP connections

You can use the FTP Session Control function to check who is currently logged into your site through FTP and terminate any FTP connections to your site if needed. Using this function you can prevent users from accessing your files without your permission.

How to Access FTP Connections

If you suspect that somebody is accessing your site without your permission, and you want to terminate the connection, you first have to access the FTP Connections via your Hosting Manager. Here's how to access the FTP Connections page:

  1. Click on My Account at the top of this page.
  2. Select Hosting Manager from the drop-down menu.
  3. Enter your username and password and click Log In.
  4. On the Home page, click the Files icon or the [ v ] arrow symbol on the right side, then click the FTP Connections button.

Note:You may need to click the Reload button to view the current sessions.

Congratulations! You have accessed the FTP Connections.

How to Terminate FTP Connections

If you want to terminate any of the FTP connections you see listed in the FTP Connections page, here's how to do it:

  1. Click on My Account at the top of this page.
  2. Select Hosting Manager from the drop-down menu.
  3. Enter your username and password and click Log In.
  4. On the Home page, click the Files icon or the [ v ] arrow symbol on the right side, then click the FTP Connections button.
  5. In the FTP Connections page, select the connection you find suspicious and want to terminate, and then click the Trash icon or Disconnect button to the right.
  6. Next, click Disconnect "hot name" to confirm the action.

You will then get a confirmation message like the following:

The FTP session with PID “Process ID (PID)” was terminated.

Congratulations! You have terminated an FTP Connection.

If you want to know how to set up an FTP Connection, click here.

If you want to know how to set up a new FTP account, click here.

Was this helpful? Yes No 88% of people found this helpful.