Sign Up / Log In
Phone support has longer wait times due to the COVID-19 outbreak. Please send us an email at help@crazydomains.com or click the Chat Now button on the screen.

IMPORTANT NOTICE REGARDING COVID

We are currently experience longer than usual wait times within our Customer Care Centre. Our team are working through the call volume as quickly as they can however, we ask that you limit enquiries through telephone for urgent matters only at this stage. We would like to advise the utilisation of our Chat or Email support in which our team will revert to support you as quickly as possible.

Need help?
1300 210 210
Online Support Email Hosting

How to delete a Catch All Email Account

Normally, if an email is sent to an unknown address on your domain name, the sender will receive a bounce back notifying the sender that the email had failed. With a catch-all account, misaddressed emails on your domain will be sent to a specific email address, instead of a bounce back to sender. In most cases, it will be sent in your default email account.

Aside from receiving misaddressed messages, setting up this account can give you a MASSIVE increase in spam, and we strongly recommend that you remove catch-all accounts. If your email address is commonly misspelled, email forwarding is a preferred option.

Here's how you remove a catch-all email address:

  1. Click Sign Up / Log In at the top of this page.
  2. Select Hosting Manager from the drop-down menu.
  3. Enter your username and password and click Log In.
  4. On the Home page, click Email or the [ v ] arrow on the right side, and then click Default Address button under it.
  5. Select Discard and send an error to the sender (at SMTP time). Unless modified, any email sent to unknown addresses on your account will now bounce back with an error message: No such person at this address. You may modify the error message to your liking in the box provided just below your selection.
  6. Click Change.

Congratulations! You just deleted a catch-all email account.

Note: You can also set the option Discard (Not Recommended) on your account, this will bounce back saying no such user.

Was this helpful? Yes No 86% of people found this helpful.
we're
online
Need Help? Chat Now