0 items
24/7 Support & Sales   1300 210 210
Online Support Website Builder

How to backup and restore Website Builder files

It is highly recommended that you ensure you have a backup of your web site before making major changes. If you would ever like to undo your changes you will be able to easily restore to the backup state of your site. Website Builder can keep up to 5 backups at a time. If you reach your limit you can delete any of the older backups and create new ones instead.

Creating a backup

You can create a backup by doing the following:

  1. Click on My Account at the top of this page.
  2. Select Website Builder from the drop-down menu.
  3. Enter your username and password and click Log In.
  4. On the left menu click Settings scroll down and click Backup and Restore.
  5. The Backup and Restore screen will open, allowing you to create a new backup.
  6. Assign a name to the new backup. Add a description to remind you why you created this backup.
  7. Choose between the two options:
    Back up your published site The backup will be created from the data in the current published state of your site.
    Back up your working copy The backup will be created from the current state of your site in the Site Editor.
  8. Click Create Backup. The new backup will be added to the list in the Backup and Restore screen, click Close.

Your backup has now been created.

Restore your backup

To restore your site to a previously saved state, follow these steps:

  1. Click on My Account at the top of this page.
  2. Select Website Builder from the drop-down menu.
  3. Enter your username and password and click Log In.
  4. On the left menu click Settings scroll down and click Backup and Restore.
  5. The Backup and Restore screen will open, allowing you to choose a backup from which to restore.
  6. Assign a name to the new backup. Add a description to remind you why you created this backup.
  7. Click Restore on the selected backup listing.
  8. A dialog box will pop up. Click I AM SURE to finish the restore process.

Congratulations, your backup has now been restored.

Was this helpful? Yes No 100% of people found this helpful.